Action Plan

Action Plan

Kelly Johnstad

3rd Grade

 

Short Term Goals

Goal 1

Goal: Incorporate technology effectively into my classroom and math lessons.

Date to be incorporated: Begin Thursday August 31st at open house with QR code activities for students to introduce them to 3rd grade math (see “parent letter”) and throughout the year.

Resources: Ipads, Chromebooks, Laptops, QR Codes, AR activities, Dreambox math program, 3 Act Math videos, Smart Board

Challenges: Getting access frequently to the school technology carts to allow students to have time with technology. The time it takes to preplan and create effective technology for students to use.

Overcoming challenges: I have already begun conversations with my principal about the necessity to have access to technology on a regular basis. We are working on a schedule to allow each 3rd grade class to have 5-7 technology tools (Ipad, Chromebook, Laptop) everyday during math for student activities. This would be one cart of 30-35 tools split between the 5 classes. This way we could work together to share the technology evenly, or allow one classroom to have the entire cart for a lesson if needed. Time management can, and will always be a struggle for teachers to prepare effective lessons daily with the time allotted, as well as using personal time. I frequently arrive to school 30 minutes each day, I will be trading less assessments for more time to create effective technology integration for my students.

Possible activities: Dreambox math program 2-3 times a week. 3 Act Math once a week. Augmented Reality activities at various times (example during geometry to bring 3D shapes to life).

Justification: Technology is an important tool for meaningful learning of mathematics. Technology can be a wide range of tools, such as those listed above. These tools, when used effectively, help students make sense of mathematics, engage in mathematical reasoning, and have the skills to be able to communicate mathematically. These tools make applications, websites, and activities to available that help students explore math, and help make sense of different concepts and procedure. These tools can also aid in helping students stay engaged and use mathematical reasoning skills. (pg. 78 Principals To Actions)

 

Goal 2:

Goal: Incorporate 3 Act Math Tasks once a week

Date to be Incorporated: September 2017 School Year

Resources: 3 Act Math tasks found on teacher blogs, twitter feeds, and Dan Meyer’s website, as well as 3 Act Math tasks I will create myself.

Challenges: Finding the time to incorporate 3-Act Tasks, while still completing district mandated curriculum. Finding and creating 3-Act math tasks that support state standards and concepts being taught through district curriculum.

Overcoming Challenges: I can overcome these challenges by seeing the benefits of 3-Act Math and making it a priority for my students to have access too. Also, I need to stay active on twitter and searching for quality 3-Act Math tasks that are already created and finding the ones I need to create myself. Through this class I have already found many that can be implemented in my classroom and saved their links to use later.

Possible Activities: The 3-Act Task I created for class, Robert Kaplinsky 3-Act Math Tasks (http://robertkaplinsky.com/lessons/), Tap Into Teen Minds 3-Act Lessons (https://tapintoteenminds.com/3acts-by-common-core/grade3-ccss/)

Justification: 3-Act Tasks can be used to engage students into mathematical reasoning and understanding, provide students with opportunities to discuss mathematics, encourage flexible thinking and allowing students to use multiple approaches, encourage to students to find an answer and justify it. (pg. 6 Three-Act Tasks: Engaging Students In Math)

 

Goal 3:

Goal: Incorporate Why Does It Work tasks 3 times a week for 15-20 minutes. The whole procedure may take more than one day/week for students to complete.

Date to be Incorporated: September 2017

Resources: But Why Does It Work text book, WDIW twitter feeds, WDIW blogs/websites

Challenges: Teaching students how to make mathematical arguments and the phases we will go through to create a conjecture, justify our thinking and extend our thinking to other operations.

Overcoming Challenges: In the beginning we will need to “go slow to go fast” while students warm up to the idea of making mathematical arguments. I predict students will come to 3rd grade ready to answer numerical math questions (such as 2+3=5), but not justify and analyze how they got this answer, and share their thinking with their peers. Setting up respectful groups, with high expectations (as explained in Chapter 7 of Mathematical Mindsets) and a value of discussion and sharing ideas will be crucial to the success of these activities.

Justification: Lingering on mathematical arguments requires students to focus on the operations and understand their directions and behaviors, learn about mathematical practices, require students to analyze and justify their thinking, and level the playing field for all students. (But Why Does It Work?).

 

Long Term Goals

Goal 1:

Goal: Foster a growth mindset in my students, and celebrate mistakes and struggles.

Date to be incorporated: Begin September 2017. Goal is to change mindset for students for years to come in their mathematical futures.

Resources: Mathematical Mindsets, But Why Does It Work?, 3-Act Tasks

Challenges: Students who enter with a fixed mindset and parents who foster a fixed mindset at home. For example, parents who say “It’s ok that math is hard, you’re more of a reading kid”.

Overcoming challenges: I need to educate parents about a growth mindset, and foster growth mindset in my class room through activities, celebrating mistakes and struggle, giving diagnostic comments, changing assessments, and learning to “say the right things”. For example, telling a student “I think it’s great you learned that” instead of “you’re so smart”.

Justification: The research on growth mindset and the positive effects in a classroom are overwhelming. Just Google growth mindset and you can see lists of research that promotes the importance of fostering a growth mindset in students. One great resource for the importance of a growth mindset is Mathematical Mindsets by Jo Boaler.

 

Goal 2:

Goal: Encouraging the team of teachers, interventionists, Special Education teachers, and ELL teachers to “jump on board” with believing all students can learn and foster a growth mindset.

Date to be incorporated: July 6th 2017. I just called a meeting with my team to discuss some of the changes I would like to see in math this year, as well as attempting to get my principal on board to support this new mindset.

Challenges: Changing the mindset of teachers that have a fixed mindset, are comfortable in their ways of teaching, and do not have the background knowledge on the importance of growth mindsets and mathematical reasoning.

Overcoming Challenges: I can work to overcome these challenges by beginning to teach other staff what I have learned. One of the most powerful ways to teach others the power of growth mindset and mathematical reasoning will be through showing success and changes in my classroom and with my students. I think the most effective way to help my colleagues see the benefits of what we have learned is to “lead by example” and allow them see the positive changes in my students and teaching.

Justification: Students who enter my classroom with a fixed mindset will have an easier time remaining in that mindset if other teachers are allowing them to remain in a fixed mindset, and teaching in practices that foster a fixed mindset. It is my responsibility as an educator to not only encourage growth in my students, but all students I come in contact with, or my colleagues come in contact with. This information we have learned is too important not to share with others and allow their students to benefit from these activities as well!

1 thought on “Action Plan”

  1. Hi Kelly! This post was awesome. I love that you included both short term and long term goals, how smart! Your first goal of incorporating technology is such a great one. I have used QR codes in the past, and have absolutely loved them! They are so engaging, and my students never got tired of them. 🙂 I have heard great things about Dreambox but have not tried it out yet, I’ll have to look into that before this upcoming year!
    I also set a goal to incorporate 3-Act Math tasks in my classroom. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed them, I totally did too!
    Your first long term goal of encouraging a growth mindset in your school is fantastic. I want to attempt to do this myself, what a cool thing! I do agree with your potential challenge of changing fixed mindsets, but it’s still worth a try. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing your goals, I agreed with all of them and wish you the best in accomplishing them all in the future! Best of luck, Kelly. Have an amazing year 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment